Yeezus

20130625-125640.jpg

Upon hearing the title of Kanye West’s latest album, Yeezus, I flinched a little. Then, of course, I saw the track I Am a God and my petite reaction became a full-fledged frowny face. Due to an upbringing saturated with both religious instruction and exploration, both titles naturally made me feel some discomfort. But then I realized that a lot of things Kanye West has done and/or said has evoked the same involuntarily reaction. I moved on and pushed play.

Ye’s recent interview with W (which would probably one of the hottest links this week, even if no one bothered with SEO) was a solid PR move. It’s still the same Kanye, but somehow it humanized him more. At least I think so. I like him more, even if I disagree with his self-imposed divine status and categorization under rock ‘n’ roll. Notwithstanding all the above, I look forward to his upcoming men’s capsule collection.

So now, aside from his music, I appreciate his eagerness to learn. To soak up expert information at any cost. That’s integral to learning, to growing. I also admire…. wait for it… his humility. Shocker. I don’t think it outweighs his ego, but I think his actions, more than his words, have shown he understand where he stands. Lastly, I really love what he said about appearing on Keeping Up with the Kardashians with/for girlfriend Kim (sidenote: how is it Tuesday and I’ve already referenced this show twice? Let that marinate…):

“Oh, that’s just all for love. It’s simply that. At a certain point, or always, love is more important than any branding, or any set of cool people, or attempting to impress anyone. Because true love is just the way you feel.”

A beautiful sentiment to end on.

This entry was posted in Right Here Right Now and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

